The Road to… New Jersey??!!?

January 27, 2010 at 3:13 pm Leave a comment

From the posts so far, you wouldn’t know I actually ever finish any quilts.  But I do, and some of them even turn out pretty well.  And of those, I like to put some in places where other people can see them:  namely, quilt shows.

This past summer, I had a quilt accepted into Quilt Odyssey:  “Watching the Wheels,” a study in color transparency illusions that I made for a curved piecing challenge hosted by Endless Mountains Quiltworks in Tunkhannock, PA:

Watching the Wheels

Watching the Wheels, 2008: 36" x 36"

It is entirely machine pieced and quilted, with bobbin drawing using Ricky Tims’ technique.  That was my first quilt in a show outside my local guild show; definitely my first juried or national show.  And as Quilt Odyssey has been more than happy to reject my quilts in the past, I was thrilled.  Thus newly emboldened, I’m entering two quilts into Mancuso’s March show, The Quilt Fest of New Jersey.

Blue Butterfly Day

Blue Butterfly Day, 2008: 42" x 66"

I made “Blue Butterfly Day” for my 2008 guild challenge, which was “Black & White & Hmmm… All Over” — in other words, black and white plus one other color.  It is my own design, using Marti Michell’s Kaleidoscope ruler for the background blocks; the four sizes of butterflies are blind-hem machine appliqued using Beth Ferrier’s technique and Stable Magic.

Kyoto Ink

Kyoto Ink, 2009: 64" x 64"

“Kyoto Ink” was made for the “Different” fabric challenge hosted by The Quilter’s Palette in Fleetwood, PA.  The owner accidentally ordered two bolts of the Alexander Henry Zen Charmer fabric (snakes and geishas and skulls — oh my!) and decided to turn it into a challenge to make a quilt using at least a 12″ square of the featured fabric.  I am proud to announce that my quilt won first prize as voted on by the shop hoppers in the Eastern PA Quilt Shop Hop in November 2009.  The design is adapted from the pattern “Darcy Days” by Suzy Atkins, published in Australian Patchwork & Quilting, with a completely original center and outer border.  The large center circle is inset pieced; the small circles in the center and in the outer border are hand appliqued, and the outer border segments are joined with blind-hem machine applique.

You may have noticed a common thread here:  all three finished quilts appearing in this post are challenge quilts.  This is not a coincidence.  I love challenges precisely because they provide me with motivation to make a quilt that will get finished and that I get to keep! Otherwise, quilts I finish tend to be gifts; quilts I get to keep tend not to get finished.  Hence my current situation.

But as I do have two finished quilts that are eligible and (to my eye) promising, I’m taking a chance and entering them into Quilt Fest of NJ.  Wish me luck!

Entry filed under: Quilt Shows. Tags: , , .

Meet the UFOs! Part I: Lemoyne Star And Introducing the WIPs! Part I: Ruby Wedding

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

Categories


