Snow Day!

February 6, 2010 at 12:10 am 1 comment

So, I was supposed to leave for Rhode Island tonight after work, to attend TempleCon (a gaming/science fiction/steampunk convention) and to visit my sister and her family nearby.  However, this happened:

Snowy neighborhood

My street, about 10 p.m.

It’s supposed to snow through the night and well into tomorrow, accumulating up to 20 inches.  So even if I could have gotten on the road before the storm started in earnest, the catsitter wouldn’t have been able to get here to give our oldest cat his Xanax (oh how I wish that were a joke.)  My husband rode up with a friend on Thursday, so I find myself 1) alone, 2) unable to go anywhere, 3) with a full pantry, and 4) with a whole lot of UFOs.

What’s that spell?  SEWING DAY!!!

I would have started tonight, except I also woke up this morning with a very sore throat.  It didn’t keep me from going to work, but I did stop at Walgreens on the way home, and I think I sort of panicked in the Cough & Cold aisle:

Cold medicine

That's the real-deal Homeland Security fake Nyquil, too!

Judicious dosing and a cat on my lap while I watched RuPaul’s Drag Race (love that show!) seems to have perked me right up, so tomorrow and Sunday will be all about the quilting.  Now to decide what to work on…

I’ve been thinking quite a bit lately about how I should go about prioritizing the UFOs, and in keeping with today’s snow theme, I want to introduce Dave Ramsey’s Debt Snowball plan.  Basically, he advocates listing all your debts smallest to largest, then paying as much as you can every billing cycle on the smallest debt, while only paying minimum payments on the rest, so that you get small debts paid off quickly and you build momentum for eliminating debt.  While I can’t completely endorse all Mr. Ramsey’s personal finance advice, I think it has potential if applied to other areas of life.  In a quilting version of this method, I would work on the quilt that has the least to be done before it’s finished, in order to be able to get measurable success faster and get me motivated to work on the bigger, more time-consuming projects.

I’ll post again tomorrow as to the identity of the lucky quilt!  And good news in the mailbox today, both “Blue Butterfly Day” and “Kyoto Ink” were accepted by Quilt Fest of New Jersey. It’s a nice show, and they hang all the ribbon-winning quilts from Mid-Atlantic Quilt Festival. If Somerset, NJ is closer to home than Hampden, VA, it’s worth the trip.

Entry filed under: Quilt Shows, Time Management. Tags: , , , .

UFOs Part II: Convergence WIPs, Part III: Window on Whimsy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Cassandra  |  February 6, 2010 at 9:33 am

    Have fun on your sew/snow day! The Ruby Wedding quilt is beautiful.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

Categories


