Super Secret Surprise Quilt Shop!

March 29, 2010 at 8:28 pm Leave a comment

I have a lot to say about the Lancaster AQS show, my visit with Diane, and my continuing quest to quilt Convergence Birds, but first —

I found a new quilt shop!

It’s not completely new; it’s been there for three years, but it was new to me and utterly unexpected.  I had a meeting in Bala Cynwyd on Friday morning, which ran later than planned and put me on the PA Turnpike in need of lunch.  I stopped at the Downingtown exit and ate, but made a miscalculation getting back to the turnpike and had to make a U-turn.  I had turned left onto Uwchlan Avenue (yes, I was in the Welsh names part of Pennsylvania on Friday) and was about to turn into the first business on the left to go back the way I’d come, when out of the corner of my eye I saw a sign in the shopping center to my right for “The Quilt Block.”

Left-turn signal went off.  Right-turn signal went on.

The Quilt Block turned out to be a charming little shop in an old house with an impressive selection of bright, contemporary fabrics by designers such as Amy Butler, Joanna Figueroa, and BasicGrey for Moda.  I love shops in old houses; having to go from room to room creates such a feeling of discovery, with surprises around every corner and in every little architectural nook.  The owners had taken full advantage of the charm of this building, with lovely little vignettes set up for fabric collections, kits, shop models, discount bolts, notions, books, and new items.  They are very service-oriented, and have Sunday hours!

Their featured items included fabrics, kits, and patterns by relatively local, up-and-coming design team LizzieB Cre8ive, whose fun design esthetic has exploded all over their show booth.  I saw them for the first time at QFNJ and was happy to see them again at AQS Lancaster, where I was able to get some pictures of their booth:

Lizzie B Cre8ive booth at AQS Lancaster

Lizzie B Cre8ive booth at AQS Lancaster

I couldn’t stay long at The Quilt Block, as I had afternoon plans with Rhonda that were even further complicated by traffic, but I had a thoroughly enjoyable, albeit whirlwind, trip to the shop.  I managed to get out with just a few batik fat quarters, a pattern, and a Cathedral Windows ruler to go with the book I’d bought a few months ago.  When I checked out, the very helpful lady at the counter tied a cheerful fabric yo-yo to my bag; apparently they have “yo-yo return” sales, announced via email, in which you trade your yo-yo for a discount.

My purchases from The Quilt Block

My purchases from The Quilt Block -- see the yo-yo?

This would have been a very pleasant quilt shop experience under any circumstance; coming upon it by chance while being frustrated by inadequate road signage made it an absolute gift.  Perhaps I should buy the license plate frame Diane pointed out to me at the show; after all, I certainly do brake for quilt shops.

Entry filed under: Fabric Shopping, Travel. Tags: , .

Happy National Quilting Day! (belated) AQS Lancaster, Part I: Clearing the Air

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Categories


