My Brand-New Little Project

November 24, 2010 at 6:38 pm 4 comments

Ronan Day 4

Ronan Damien Paddock made his appearance at 12:35 p.m. Saturday, November 20, 2010, weighing 10 lbs., 8 oz. and measuring 20 1/4″ long.  He was born yelling and passed all his neonatal tests with flying colors.  Due to his hugeness, he was delivered by Caesarian; so far, my recovery has been blessedly easy.

He has a full head of dark brown hair, my ears, and his daddy’s barrel chest; beyond that, it’s too soon to tell who he looks like, so for now he just looks like himself.

He is very strong and grabs everything he can with his tiny hands.  I’m already imagining a lifetime of his exploring the world through those hands:  making and breaking things, digging and playing, building and experimenting.  I hope that he enjoys working with his hands as much as I do.

I hope he knows that I will always be here to hold his hand.

Our first family portrait

Our first family portrait, taken by our anesthesiologist

Suffice to say, there will be a considerable lull in the quilt-related posts here while the new normal asserts itself and I figure out where quilting fits.  Quilting will always be a part of my life, no matter what else is going on, but I have to reprioritize and restrategize around this tiny new human for right now.  There’s a post in the pipeline about Matt and Alyssa’s quilt, and I’ll be able to catch up on my back episodes of The Quilt Show with Alex Anderson and Ricky Tims during baby feedings, so I may post some reflections and points of interest about that.  Dan is working near my Janome dealer, so he’s planning to run my machine up for servicing next week; hopefully the free-motion quilting tension problems I’m experiencing will be alleviated by the time I can actually find a free moment to quilt.

But in the meantime, I’ll be marveling at how on Earth I managed to make this amazing little person.

Entry filed under: New Projects.

Little Happy Dances! Finished! Matt and Alyssa’s Wedding Quilt

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. barbara  |  November 24, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    Congratulations, so many new and wonderful changes to add great joy to life.

    Reply
  • 2. Pat Pena  |  November 25, 2010 at 11:32 am

    Happy Thanksgiving. Gives new meaning having a brand new baby in the family. Congratulations, we missed you at guild last week. Can’t wait to see your little one in person. Hugs to you, Pat

    Reply
  • 3. Carolyn Goodling  |  November 26, 2010 at 8:23 am

    Congratulations Sarah and husband. I know you will have many happy hours ahead of you. Wishing of all you God’s blessings.

    Reply
  • 4. Diane Koons  |  November 26, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    He is beautiful! Congrats to you and Dan! The family picture just shows a very happy family. You are just beaming. We will certainly miss you at the Retreat. I totally understand how a little one changes your whole life and what is important. Enjoy him, the years pass by too fast.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Categories


