Multitasking Mama

February 8, 2011 at 10:22 pm 2 comments

I’m hesitantly wading into these uncharted waters in my life, figuring out how the working mother of a not-quite-3-month-old still manages to occasionally quilt. To that end, I’ve been working on a quilt for Ronan when I can grab a few minutes during his nap or when he’s willing to sit in his bouncy seat in the studio. Ronan is a great sleeper at night, but lately he’s been going through a clingy phase during the day where he wants to be held even when napping. Initially this created a barrier to getting much else accomplished.

Thank heaven for the good folks at Baby Bjorn. The nation that brought us Ikea and Lisbeth Salander has also made it possible for me to quilt, albeit at arm’s length, while Ronan snoozes away. I think he finds the sewing machine motor soothing.

Of course, thanks to the cats, I sometimes have more than one complication in my studio. More news of the quilt soon, I hope. (Hint: it’s blue and taupe!)

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Finished! Matt and Alyssa’s Wedding Quilt Baby Quilts

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Diane  |  February 9, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Too funny! I love what I see of the quilt so far. Can’t wait to see more.

    Reply
  • 2. Pat Pena  |  February 9, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    Great photo! Good luck with the quilting. I see you have parenting and cat care mastered!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

Categories


