Almost There…

June 6, 2012 at 8:58 am Leave a comment

It’s all over but the shouting!

Or the binding, which in my life normally elicits some shouting.

I don’t know why I dislike sewing binding on so much. I don’t know if I’m still at heart a bratty child who’s too impatient, seeing the finish line but resenting still having one more task to perform. I don’t know if it’s the handwork aspect, that having executed all the piecing and quilting on the machine, it seems retrograde to sit with a needle in my hand. I don’t know if it’s my perfectionist tendencies that make me tense up over wanting every stitch to be invisible and ideally placed, yet wanting to finish sometime this century. All I know is that binding the quilt is my least favorite part of the process. I’d rather pick out stitches than sew on binding.

But the end is in sight, and I am definitely on target to finish in plenty of time for the show. (I also have to make and add the hanging sleeve, and sew on the label, and launder the quilt to get rid of the water-soluble basting thread… ok, maybe I should be sewing rather than blogging right now.)

I do have to say that as far as bindings go, I’m rather fond of this one. It’s the lovely plaid from the setting triangles again, because I can’t resist a plaid or striped binding, especially set on the bias. However, since the setting triangles go straight to the edge of the quilt, I wanted something to make the binding stand out. I didn’t think I had time to do one of Susan Cleveland‘s Piping Hot Bindings before the quilt show, so I cheated by using brown 1/2″ rick rack. I did use Susan’s technique, though, of attaching the rick rack first using a contrasting bobbin thread, then attaching the binding to the front of the quilt by sewing with the back of the quilt facing up, so I could follow that bright orange bobbin thread and sew just to the left of it. Hand sewing the binding down was incredibly tedious on such a large quilt, especially facing a deadline and during an unusually warm late spring, but the result appears so far to be worth it. And on the hot days, I just wore shorts and posed like Angelina Jolie at the Oscars.

Here’s a little preview for the “finished!” post that I’ll hopefully be publishing soon. Just as I did during this year’s shop hop, in 2007 I took a picture of the quilt at each shop:

While the different settings and designs were extremely inspiring, and I have certainly gleaned some ideas from them for future sampler quilts, ultimately I went my own way. The big reveal should be coming soon…`

Entry filed under: Quilt Guild, Quilt Shows, Time Management, UFOs. Tags: .

Book Review: “Listen To Your Quilt” by Barbara Persing Finished! Liddle Lamzy Divey

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Categories


