My Newest Little Project

March 13, 2013 at 10:03 pm 2 comments

Finley afghanI had my baby girl!

hospital familyFinley Nichole Paddock was born February 26, 2013 at 1:55pm, weighing 9 lbs., 6 oz. and measuring 19.5″ long. She came out yelling and bright red, with a full head of dark brown hair.

siblingsShe looks startlingly like her brother, which surprised everyone:  Ronan’s features are very much a mix of different family members, so that when people ask me who he looks like, I always say he just looks like Ronan. Now Finley also looks like Ronan, to the point that when they brought her to me, I thought, “Didn’t I already have this baby?” Her face is a little rounder, her forehead a little less prominent, and I think her eyes will be brown. But I also think they will look strongly alike as brother and sister, which can only be a good thing.

swaddle FinleyShe’s a snuggly little girl who loves to be held, and knowing that she’s my last baby, I’m trying to cherish every moment of cuddling her. It’s a good thing I’ve always been told that you can’t spoil a newborn, because otherwise I’m spoiling the daylights out of this child.

Finley sleepingI’m still getting used to the word “daughter.” Before we had children, if I ever pictured myself as a mother, I saw myself with little girls. After all, I have three younger sisters; my brother wasn’t born until I was 14. Having spent the last two years and three months as the mother of a boy, however, has changed that perspective. I think I’m doing a good job so far with Ronan; I hope I can give them both what they need from me.

Ronan Finley swingWe’re also trying to make this transition as easy as possible for Ronan. He never really grasped the concept of a baby coming despite all our efforts to discuss the topic with him over the last several months, so he has been a little spun by this major life change. My mom stayed with me in the hospital so Dan could be at home with Ronan to normalize things as much as possible those first few days. Nevertheless, he’s been somewhat clingy and oppositional since we got home from the hospital, but I make sure I do storytime and bedtime with him every night, just the two of us, and he’s gradually coming around. He likes Finley a lot, so at least he’s not holding a grudge against her.

So while I’m still in the early, bleary-eyed, weepy phase of new-baby-having, I wanted to introduce my new little treasure here. I’m still getting to know her, and still getting to know myself with her in my life. But she represents a very welcome new chapter, a new adventure, a blessing, and a promise.

Finley pillowWelcome to the world, baby girl.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Cheesecake! Still Here, Still Quilting!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jean - Happy Sewing Room  |  March 13, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    Congratulations Sarah! You are truly blessed with two beautiful children and they are blessed to have a beautiful Mother.

    Reply
  • 2. Judy Sorensen  |  March 13, 2013 at 10:24 pm

    This could be be the sweetest, most heart felt introduction I have ever gotten. I’m a little teary right now. You have proven yourself to be a great mom to Ronan and I expect you’ll be even better and more comfortable with two. Too bad more parents aren’t as ” into” their kids as much as you and Dan. Congratulations to the perfect family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Obstacles to Progress

Siamese Cat on Sewing Machine

Making it work!

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 41 other followers

Categories


